Recipe Review: Roasted Redcurrant Chicken

One of my Christmas presents from my sister this year was a new cookbook – ‘The Intolerant Gourmet’ by Pippa Kendrick. I absolutely love it! Ok, I’ve only made two of the recipes so far but both were extremely delicious and it’s a beautiful book plus all the recipes are free from wheat, yeast, egg, soy and diary so it would be suitable for absolutely everyone. The first recipe to catch my eye was the ‘Roasted Redcurrant Chicken with Garlic and Rosemary New Potatoes’ a simple one-pot meal with the wonderful flavours of the herbs (rosemary and flat leaf parsley), garlic and lemon. I hadn’t used redcurrants in a savoury dish before but I definitely plan to try more recipes with them in.

Marinating the chicken

Marinating the chicken

To begin with you marinate the chicken breasts in a mixture of olive oil, lemon juice and zest, garlic, flat leaf parsley and redcurrants, plus of course some salt and pepper. Pippa’s recipe actually used redcurrant jelly rather than whole redcurrants but I thought they would make a good substitution  (I used 3 tablespoons of redcurrants for 5 chicken breasts). The chicken needs to marinate for at least half an hour, during which time you halve the new potatoes and roast with olive oil, rosemary, garlic, salt and pepper. Then after 25 minutes simply lay the chicken breasts on top of the potatoes and return to the oven for another 20 minutes.

Baking the chicken on top of the potatoes

Baking the chicken on top of the potatoes

The aroma in the kitchen was just wonderful during the cooking – it really worked up my appetite! This dish is so simple and yet so full of flavour – I can’t wait to try more of Pippa’s recipes. I served the chicken and potatoes with curly kale, which worked well, but you could use any green vegetable (tenderstem broccoli perhaps?) or a nice fresh salad.

The finished product ... on my plate :)

The finished product … on my plate 🙂

Leave a Reply

